Restrict Past Content

The Restrict Past Content add-on for Restrict Content Pro lets you restrict content published prior to a member's join date. This is useful for membership sites that want members to only access content published after they've joined, and not content published before they joined. Restrictions are defined per subscription level, and content can be excluded from the restrictions.

Installing the Restrict Past Content add-on

This add-on requires Restrict Content Pro.

Download and install the plugin from the product's page here, or from your account dashboard here. If you need help installing the plugin, refer to the WordPress plugin installation documentation.

Configuring the Restrict Past Content add-on

Restrict Past Content must be turned on for each subscription level whose members you want to prevent from reading content published prior to their join date. To enable it, go to Restrict > Subscription Levels, and either add a new subscription level or edit an existing one.

Subscription Level settings

There are two settings on the subscription level. They are:

  • Enabled - turns on the Restrict Past Content feature for the current subscription level.
  • Exception Period - allows you to define an exception period, where members can view content published prior to their join date. The exception period is defined as days. For example, if you want to allow members to view content published one week prior to their join date, you would enter a 7.


Content settings

There may be cases where you want certain content to always be excluded from the restrictions. To do that, we've included an option on the post/page edit screen that lets you exclude the content from the restrictions. Simply check the checkbox and the member will be able to view the content regardless of his or her join date.


How it works

When a member registers for a subscription on your site, Restrict Content Pro stores the date internally that tracks when he or she signed up for that particular subscription level. Restrict Past Content uses this date and compares it to the content's published date, and the exclusion setting shown above, to determine if the member should have access to the content. If the member does not have access to the content, the restriction messages defined in your Restrict Content Pro settings are shown to the member.