Group Accounts - Setup

The  Group Accounts add-on for Restrict Content Pro lets you offer group accounts on your membership site. Group accounts, often referred to as umbrella memberships, allows group owners to invite other members to the site to share the same subscription. The group owner can add, remove, and manage the members of the group. Billing is all handled by the group owner, meaning group members never need to enter any billing details or worry about the status of their accounts. The owner's membership status controls the status of the group members. If the membership expires, all group members also expire.

Installing the Group Accounts add-on

This add-on requires a Professional or Ultimate license for  Restrict Content Pro.

Download and install the plugin from the product's page  here, or from your account dashboard here. If you need help installing the plugin, refer to the WordPress plugin installation documentation.

Configuring the Group Accounts add-on

Subscription Levels

Group Accounts must be enabled on the subscription level(s) whose members you want to have group seats with their memberships. To do that, go to Restrict > Subscription Levels, and add a new subscription level or edit an existing one. Enable the Allow Group Account option, specify the number of Group Seats allowed with the subscription level, and save the settings.

Email Settings

Next, you need to configure the email settings. To do that, go to Restrict > Settings > Emails and compose an email in the Group Invite Email section.

Note: Group Accounts includes three new email template tags for use in your emails. They are:

  • %groupname% - displays the name of the group the person is being invited to.
  • %groupdesc% - displays the description of the group the person is being invited to.
  • %invitelink% - displays the invitation link the person being invited will click to join the group.

Here is an example email sent to someone that has been invited to a group:

Group Dashboard

Next, you need to create a page where group owners can manage their groups. To do that, go to Pages > Add New, create a new page, add the [rcp_group_dashboard] shortcode to the page, and publish the page.

Optionally, if you want more control over the items that show on the group dashboard, you can use the separate shortcodes included. More on that here.

That's all there is to set up. Now let's take a look at what the members see.


What the customer sees

On the front end of the site, there are a few different screens a member sees depending on his or her status in the group.

Group Owners

A group owner has full access to manage the group. This includes the group's name and description, the members in the group, and the group's subscription level. To manage all these things, the group owner visits the Group Dashboard page (mentioned above).

The partial screenshot above shows the list of current group members, along with the form for adding new members.


The partial screenshot above shows that we've added Jane Doe to the group. Notice that Jane Doe has not yet confirmed her invitation. If needed, the group owner can resent the invitation using the Resend Invite link. Optionally, the group owner can go ahead and confirm the group invitation using the Set as Member link.


The screenshot above shows an updated view of the members list. Note that the group owner can remove the members from the group, promote users to group admins, or demote current admins to regular members.


In the screenshot above, we see another view of the Add Group Members form, along with the Import Group Members form - which allows group owners to import members from a CSV file.


In the screenshot above, we see the Group Settings form - which lets group owners set the group's name and description.


Standard Group Members (non-owners)

Members of a group who are not owners will not have access to any of the features shown above. Those are all reserved for the group owner. If a group member who is not an owner happens to visit the Group Dashboard, he or she will see the following:

Additionally, group members who are not owners are not allowed to go through the registration form and change their memberships. This is to prevent them from removing themselves from the group. Their membership is already managed by the group membership. If they try to go through the registration form, they will see the following: